Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

TCWT October 2012 Blog Chain

 

ETA: 3/30/14: *If you’re one of the awesome people who finds these past blog chain posts through search terms, you can go here to find more recent topics and to sign up for a current chain.*

 

Well, it’s almost October, which means it’s almost November, which means it’s almost time for–you guessed it–NaNoWriMo. That sound you now hear is the entire writing community freaking out.

And to celebrate NaNo drawing so near, I decided that, for this month’s chain, we should all start planning our NaNo novels. That’s why this month’s prompt is:

“What are you writing for NaNoWriMo? Briefly explain how this book idea come about. Then write a mock first page for the novel.”

Even if you’re not doing NaNoWriMo, you’re still welcome to participate; all you need to do is apply the prompt to a new book idea of yours instead. But if you are doing NaNo, be sure to link us to your NaNo profile (if you have one) in the post so we can all connect with each other.

Also, if you plan to change your book idea later on or have two that you’re deciding between or don’t know yet (you can honestly make up a book idea), then that’s also fine. Just pick any random idea to use. This is just a fun exercise; it’s okay if the book changes later on, or if you end up scrapping the first page immediately after the chain ends.

Thanks! Let me know if you have any questions.

About John Hansen

I’m seventeen. I’m a YA writer, a nerdfighter, and a book geek, and I recently finished a year-and-a-half stint interning at the literary agency Foreword Literary (now Fuse Literary). I'm also a Game of Thrones and Lucille Bluth enthusiast, and my ultimate life question is, if you are what you eat, then does that mean I should eat a NYT bestselling author?

55 comments on “TCWT October 2012 Blog Chain

  1. I’m in! Any day works for me.

  2. Miriam Joy
    September 16, 2012

    Oh no! No email? :(
    Well, I’m not sure if I’m doing NaNo, but I’ll have decided by mid October – because it depends on whether or not I can finish the editing I’m doing in time to plan – so a later date would be good. If I am not doing it, I will just talk about my current project in a vaguely meaningful way.

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      All right, let’s go with the 12th!

      • Miriam Joy
        September 17, 2012

        … Looks like I’m doing it, I have characters and the first eight chapters outlined. I rough drafted three chapters in January and found them yesterday. I like the concept but it needs work, so I think that’s what I’ll be doing.

  3. dreamsinsong
    September 16, 2012

    I’m in, as well! I’d prefer not a Thursday, if possible. Weekend would be best. (My blog is realityisimaginary.blogspot.com)

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      How about the 6th? It’s a Saturday.

  4. tomte
    September 16, 2012

    I’m back! And ready to write, as usual. Can I have a later day, in the “teens”? (Fourteen, twelve, eighteen, etc.)
    Info (just in case)
    Inside The Junk Drawer weirdalocity.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      Okay, the 14th, then!

      • tomte
        September 18, 2012

        Awesome! Now to go think of a really great idea…

  5. Mark O'Brien
    September 16, 2012

    I’m in! I can do whenever.

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      Great. I’ll put you down for the 7th!

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Just reminding myself: You switched with Morgan, so now I’ll have you down for the 20th, unless that doesn’t work either.

  6. Jasmine B.
    September 16, 2012

    I’m in. Anyday works for meeee!

    Between the Lines — cinderscoria.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      Yay! I’ll put you down for the 13th. :D

  7. Qui Sait Rien
    September 16, 2012

    I’m definitely in. Preferably after the first week of October, because homecoming will turn any posts into piles of mush.

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      YESSS. How about the 11th?

  8. gabriellan
    September 16, 2012

    I’m in! Any day works for me.

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      Woohoo! I’m putting you down for the 8th. :)

  9. Charley R
    September 16, 2012

    Oh oh oh oh, pick me! A Tuesday, Thursday or Saturday would be ideal :D

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      Let’s go with the 9th! It’s a Tuesday.

      • Charley R
        September 17, 2012

        Wunderbar! Thank you :D

  10. Liam, Head Phil
    September 16, 2012

    Sorry to tell you, but this prompt is horrible for me. It’s not your fault, of course, but I’m a pantser through and through; if I started thinking about NaNoWriMo now, I’d die when the real thing came around. Maybe. I’ll do what I can with whatever day you want to give me.

    • John Hansen
      September 16, 2012

      Um, you don’t have to participate. And I’m a pantser to, so that’s why the description has to be really vague. I’ll give you the 10th if you’re sure you want to take part.

      • Liam, Head Phil
        September 17, 2012

        I– hmmm. I don’t know if I’ll take part or not. Don’t count me in just yet– I might say something later, but I probably won’t. Sorry!

      • Liam, Head Phil
        September 19, 2012

        I’m going to do it, as long as you still have places open. What a difference a few days of thinking makes…

  11. Miss Alexandrina
    September 17, 2012

    One day I will have the guts to sign up for one of these… It would have to be a weekend, though :P

  12. nevillegirl
    September 17, 2012

    Hi! Can I have… the first day that isn’t already taken, please? I think that would be the 11th?

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Actually, that would be the 15th… I went a little out of order to fit everyone’s needs. :) Is the 15th okay?

    • nevillegirl
      September 29, 2012

      Sure, I don’t mind!

  13. Kirsten
    September 17, 2012

    Me! I’ve been so excited about NaNo since December 1st of last year! I’m really looking forward to writing my novel.

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      All right, I’ll put you down for the 16th!

  14. orphu44
    September 17, 2012

    For the last few months I’ve wanted to participate but I didn’t have a blog. I just set one up, so I’d like to participate. :)

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Welcome! We only bite a little. :P How does the 17th sound?

      • orphu44
        September 21, 2012

        The 17th sounds excellent. Thank you!

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Great! Is the 18th good with you?

      • NevilleFan
        September 21, 2012

        Yeah, that’ll work.

  15. orphu44
    September 19, 2012
  16. platonicpencil
    September 20, 2012

    I would love to participate in this.
    http://platonicpencil.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Cool. Is the 19th good?

  17. Morgan Hyde (@Amethystars)
    September 21, 2012

    Hey John, I’d love to sign up for the 7th. I know Mark already has that day but he agreed (via Twitter) to switch, since midterm marathon starts soon after for me. Thanks! (onelifeglory.blogspot.ca)

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Okay! I’m putting you down for the 7th, then.

  18. Amanda Foody
    September 21, 2012

    I don’t know if I’ll be in NaNoWriMo (but by God I’d love to). Might be starting a month or too late. (NaNoWriXmas anyone?) But I’d love to participate :) (amandafoody.blogspot.com)

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Woohoo! I’ll put you down for the 21st. Is that good?

  19. Max Larsen
    September 21, 2012

    Alright….this is my first time joining, but I’ve wanted to do this for a while so here we go. Any day is fine, I guess :)

    • Max Larsen
      September 21, 2012

      And my blog is arania777.blogspot.com by the way.

    • John Hansen
      September 21, 2012

      Great! Welcome! I’ll put you down for the 22nd.

  20. Keras the Unkown
    September 28, 2012

    I’m not doing the NaNoWriMo this year, alas, but I am starting a novel about now, so could I join the chain?

    • John Hansen
      October 3, 2012

      Ooops. I didn’t see this until now. Sorry!! Maybe next month?

  21. Keras the Unkown
    October 4, 2012

    Okay – and that’s alright, I shouldn’t have procrastinated in putting my name down.

Leave a Reply

September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 878 other followers

