Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

Interview with Lindsay Cummings, Author of THE MURDER COMPLEX

Meet Lindsay Cummings, author of the forthcoming The Murder Complex. 

Lindsay Cummings

Twitter

Blog

Website

Goodreads

The Murder Complex blurb:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

***

1. First off, welcome to TCWT! It’s incredibly inspiring to hear that you sold your book to such a major publisher as a teen. What was that like? How did you balance school and writing?

It was insane! That’s the best word I can come up with for that. What’s great, is I had actually just graduated high school when all this happened. So- I didn’t have to balance school, hehe. But I know some authors out there that are in high school and college, and they are SAINTS for being able to balance the two!

2. On Twitter you told me that you wrote your book, queried it, signed with an agent, and then sold it to HarperCollins all in less than a year. That’s incredible. Is there something you did that you think made this journey so successful?

Hearing you say that actually makes me be like, “Whoa, dude. Did that seriously happen?” But it did happen, and the only reason it did was because of my ROCKSTAR agent, Louise Fury. She did all the hard work, and kept me sane while I was waiting to hear if my book had an offer or not. I tell her all the time that she is like Jesus, but for books. (Ask her. It’s true)

13576132

3. What advice would you give to aspiring teen writers?

Write every day. Read every day. Reading every day makes you eager to write every day, because, if you’re like me, when you read an AWESOME book, you think to yourself “Wow. I want to be THIS author someday. I’ll go work on that right now!” I’d also say, get critique partners. Go to a writer’s conference, and meet other writers.  Always stay positive, because writing can be a tough, but lovely journey! 🙂

4. Plotter or pantser?

Both. I’m bipolar when it comes to writing books.

5. What inspired THE MURDER COMPLEX?

Honestly? I was getting sick of hearing stories about people being murdered on the news…all over the world. Murder is such a terrible, disgusting thing, but it totally happens all the time. I want teens to be able to read something about it that’s different—that gives them hope in the middle of dark times. I wanted to write a story that took something horrible that happens in today’s world, and give them characters to really, really root for in the middle of such a sucky situation! (and a hot boy helps)

6. What was the most awkward/funny moment you’ve had with your agent or editor, whether during The Call or something else.

Louise and I talk on the phone a lot…and she is foul-mouthed as all get out. And the worst word I ever say is “hell” (and it’s in the Bible, okay?!) So it’s always funny to hear her crack jokes, use cuss words that make my face go all Church-girl red, and then just laugh it off, because that’s who she is, and who she is = someone AWESOME.

7. You had a successful book review blog even before you got published. How did this affect you your writing? Did it help you mature as an author?

Book bloggers are SO BOSS. I love them. They got my love for books to a level that was so beyond nerdy. When I got a book deal, they were all so excited for me. They really took me in as one of their own, and now that I have a book coming out, I’d like to think they’ll all buy a copy and spread the love! 🙂

8. Anything else you’d like to add?

My awesome sweet friend, Victoria Scott, has an AWESOME paranormal coming out in March 2013, with the sexiest, steamiest main character ever…and he steals souls. It’s coming out with Entangled Teen, and I am shamelessly promoting the heck out of that book. I love it. And I love the author.

***

Thanks for coming on, Lindsay!

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

8 comments on “Interview with Lindsay Cummings, Author of THE MURDER COMPLEX

  1. EmilyRachelle
    January 10, 2013

    #8 made me laugh! 😄 Sounds like something I would totally do…

    #9 gives me hope. I just celebrated two years as a book reviewer and blogger… 😀

    • John Hansen
      January 12, 2013

      Oooh, good luck then! Two years is a big accomplishment, if you ask me.

  2. M. Saint-Germain
    January 11, 2013

    Lindsay – I can hear your voice in this interview and I love it. You sound like you’d be a lot of fun to work with. That’s important. I can’t wait to read your novel. How exciting! Great interview, John.

    • John Hansen
      January 12, 2013

      I agree. She is so awesome.

  3. A.R. Files
    January 12, 2013

    May I ask why it’s coming out so far away? 2013 just started!!!

    • John Hansen
      January 12, 2013

      Publishing moves slowly, and the length of time the book sells to its release date is always long but varies on the house and the book. Typically, the book releases between one and two years after it sells, so it takes a while. 🙂

      • A.R. Files
        January 17, 2013

        Alright. I understand. Well, good luck!

  4. Pingback: Writing Advice, Agent Interviews, Teen Authors, And More | Teens Can Write, Too!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
%d bloggers like this: