Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

TCWT February 2013 Blog Chain

ETA: 3/31/14: *If you’re one of the awesome people who finds these past blog chain posts through search terms, you can go here to find more recent topics and to sign up for a current chain.*

For this month’s blog chain, I’ve decided to try something a little different. I’m not sure how it will work out, but I definitely think it’s worth a shot.

So, self-publishing. Since it’s a complete do-it-yourself publishing method, self-published authors don’t have the luxury of huge marketing teams to get their books into the hands of their target audience, and while the stereotypes of these books being poorly-written and unedited are sometimes true, there are still a number of diamonds in the rough, diamonds that deserve more attention than they get. Therefore, this month’s blog chain topic is:

“Choose one self-published book to read and talk about your experience with it.”

(Note: You can often determine whether or not a book is self-published by visiting its Goodreads or Amazon page. If there’s no publisher listed, or if the publisher is “Createspace” or “Amazon Digital Services” or the author’s name, it’s safe to assume that it’s self-published.)

Also, if you dislike a book you read, you can either post a slightly negative review of it, read and review another self-published book, or you can do something fun with it, if you’d rather stay positive (like a character interview, etc.) Whatever you want, GO FOR IT. This blog chain is going to be really open-ended in that way.

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

47 comments on “TCWT February 2013 Blog Chain

  1. Fida Islaih
    January 25, 2013

    I have to do some research on what books are self-published and try to get my hands on one. If I do I’ll let you know and be part of another blog chain. Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      January 25, 2013

      Sure thing!

  2. The writing junkie
    January 25, 2013

    This is a great idea!!! How can I participate? I review books and promote authors on my fanpage and blog already, so doing this makes sense!!
    http://The-writing-junkie.blogspot.com
    http://Www.facebook.com/amabaduofficial

    • John Hansen
      January 25, 2013

      Of course! How is the 5th?

  3. Miriam Joy
    January 25, 2013

    I’ll join! I’ve read Mythology and Open Minds — I reviewed Mythology on my blog a while back (and didn’t actually know at the time that it was self-pubbed, but now that I think about it I got it free because KDP Select promo, so yeah.. must’ve been. Stupid Miriam), so I’d probably do Open Minds. Or read some of the others, though my ‘to-read’ pile is huge.

    • John Hansen
      January 25, 2013

      I haven’t read either, though they’re on my TBR pile. I highly recommend WHISPERS IN AUTUMN if you’re into sci-fi without much romance. Also, ANGELFALL looks really good. I’m reading it now.

      How is the 6th?

      • Miriam Joy
        January 25, 2013

        Awesome, whatever, I don’t mind 😀 I’ll put them both on my ‘to buy’ list (when I have money, you see…)

      • John Hansen
        January 25, 2013

        The good thing about self-publishing is the books are really cheap! 🙂 I think they’re both 2.99 or 3.99 USD… not sure of the conversion, though.

      • Miriam Joy
        January 25, 2013

        They’re usually 1.99 or 2.99 here… but I’m skint, and saving. Not a good combination for book-buying.

  4. nevillegirl
    January 25, 2013

    Can I have the 7th? Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Sure!

  5. MeganLizSmith
    January 25, 2013

    I’ll take a day, prefereably near the end of the month

  6. Jenny
    January 25, 2013

    Hi John,
    When are you going to announce CritFest winners?

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Hi Jenny,

      I’m really sorry this is taking so long. 😦 We’re waiting on a few more authors to select their picks, but we’ll hopefully announce around the 15th. Sorry!

      –John

  7. MeganLizSmith
    January 25, 2013

    Actually I’m kind of broke, maybe I’ll wait for next month!

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Sounds good! Let me know if you change your mind. 🙂

  8. Fida Islaih
    January 25, 2013

    Yeah I’ve read self-published books. What date do you want me to have? Thanks again!

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Is the 8th okay?

  9. Sarah Hudson
    January 25, 2013

    I really want to read Whispers in Autumn … but I’m broke. *whimpers* *frets*

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Well, if I could get you a free copy, would you take the 9th on the blog chain? I’m friends with the author and I’m sure she’d be happy to send a free PDF copy if that’s cool by you. 🙂

      • Sarah Hudson
        January 28, 2013

        ABSOLUTELY I WOULD TAKE THE 9TH AND A FREE COPY!!!

        *clears throat*

        I mean, yes, that would be fine.

      • John Hansen
        January 28, 2013

        Haha, would a PDF or an ePub copy work best? And can you send me your email at jhansenauthor@gmail? Thanks!

      • Sarah Hudson
        January 28, 2013

        An ePub copy would be great! Emailing now …

  10. AvonleaWriter
    January 25, 2013

    I’d like to try this. My sister has been recommending me a self-published book, The Emperors Edge, to me. So I can read that.

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Sounds good! Does the 10th work for you?

  11. cait
    January 25, 2013

    I’d like to be on the chain again. Whatever day is fine with me.

    notebooksisters.blogspot.com.au

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 11th.

  12. Liam, Head Phil
    January 26, 2013

    I think it would be interesting to join, as it always is, except for the fact that I have almost no way to get a self-published book. I understand that many self-published books are eBooks, and, unfortunately, I don’t have an eReader. I also have a limited library, and limited access to a bookstore which may or may not sell many self-published books. Quid debeo facere?

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Yeah, I was actually thinking of you when I wrote this because I remember you saying you don’t read eBooks. I don’t like excluding people, especially since you’re often a part of the chain, but I did want to try it regardless. Sorry. 😦 Next time we’ll do something different, promise!

      • Liam, Head Phil
        January 28, 2013

        No problem. I just don’t have an opportunity. It sounds great, though– I’ve thought about requesting a review-type blog chain prompt before, but it would end up like a book club. I’m sure to join next time, though! Promise void in case of death, mortal injury, or cookies.

  13. orphu44
    January 26, 2013

    I’d like to be part of the chain!

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      Awesome! Is the 12th okay?

      • orphu44
        January 29, 2013

        Of course. Thanks!

  14. I’d like to be part of the chain. Could I have a date towards the end of the month? My blog, btw: http://www.writerbewildered.blogspot.com/

    • I forgot to mention – a Sunday would work best for me.

      • John Hansen
        January 28, 2013

        Hmmm. Sunday is tricky. I have the 14th if that works, but I don’t want to go ahead and give you the 16th (a Sunday) in case no one else signs up and there is a huge gap. The 14th is no good? Thanks! 🙂

      • The 14th works.

  15. Gwen Coppertsone (Lily J)
    January 27, 2013

    I’m in! Any day works for me.

    • John Hansen
      January 28, 2013

      I’ll put you down for the 13th! Thanks!

  16. realteenreads
    January 29, 2013

    Love the prompt! I’ll join. Put me down for whenever.

    • John Hansen
      February 4, 2013

      Put you down for the 15th!

  17. Alouette Kim
    February 1, 2013

    Hi! Can I still sign up?
    epistolarygirl.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      February 4, 2013

      Have you down for the 16th!

  18. nevillegirl
    February 3, 2013

    Sorry to bother you with this, but is “All Men of Genius” by Lev AC Rosen self-published? I’m not sure if it is or if it’s just small-press published. You seem to know more about publishing than I do. Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      February 3, 2013

      It looks to be Tor, which is an imprint of a major house. Sorry. 😦

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2013 by in Blog Chain and tagged , , , .
January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
