Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

TCWT June 2013 Blog Chain

ETA: 3/31/14: *If you’re one of the awesome people who finds these past blog chain posts through search terms, you can go here to find more recent topics and to sign up for a current chain.*

For this month’s chain, I wanted to try something a little more serious than some of the recent topics, as I’m really curious to see what everyone has to say. The prompt:

“How have both the people in your life and your own personal experiences impacted your writing? Do you ever base characters off of people you know?”

This is a question writers get asked all the time, but it’s one that is especially fascinating to me because of the wide variety of answers I typically get. And then when you consider that, as teens, we tend to write characters that are our own age, I always wonder how each of us applies our own lives to our books.

Thanks everyone! As always, comment below with a link to your blog and any dates you can’t do to sign up!

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

60 comments on “TCWT June 2013 Blog Chain

  1. Amanda
    May 30, 2013

    Oooh, I’ll go for it! 🙂 Pretty sure I can do any day this month. I’m done with school tomorrow, too. Yay!

    • Amanda
      May 30, 2013

      Oh, and I’ll do it on my main blog this time — alifeonmission.wordpress.com.

      • John Hansen
        June 1, 2013

        Put you down for the 5th!

      • Amanda
        June 2, 2013

        Oh, wow. Yikes. xD Time to get thinking, I suppose.

  2. nevillegirl
    May 30, 2013

    Cool prompt! May I have the 7th, please?

    http://musingsfromnevillesnavel.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Sure!

  3. Miriam Joy
    May 30, 2013

    I’m in! Early early is good for me (I go back to school on the 6th, so I don’t know if you have any before that, but that’d be appreciated). However, it doesn’t matter too much, except that the end of the month is appallingly busy.

    I’ll try and actually remember this month, too…

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      From now on, I’m reading through all of the comments before assigning dates because I just gave away the 5th. Sorry. 😦 Can I put you down for the 8th?

      • Amanda
        June 2, 2013

        Oh, or you can give her the 5th and I’ll take the 8th! 🙂

      • Miriam Joy
        June 2, 2013

        That’s a Saturday, right? Yeah, I can do that. I shouldn’t have too much work the first weekend of school, ha ha! (If I do, I shall cry.)

  4. matttblack42
    May 30, 2013

    I’m in! I like this idea. If possible, can I have an early date?

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Sure! Is the 6th okay?

  5. Miss Alexandrina
    May 30, 2013

    John, why do we always start on the 5th? Surely, to avoid double-ups, you could start on the 3rd or…? *shrugs*

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      True!

  6. Katia
    May 30, 2013

    I’d love to join. I can’t do it any days after the 25th, but other than that, it sounds good. Also, my blog is katiathewritergirl.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll put you down for the 9th!

  7. Fida I
    May 30, 2013

    Hi, I would like to join in June’s blog chain. Anytime after the 10th is good. Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll give you the 11th! 🙂

      • Fida
        June 3, 2013

        Thanks!

  8. Charley R
    May 30, 2013

    This is awesome! Sign me up for any date after the 6th, please – I don’t finish my exams till then, so I need the time!

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll give you the 10th!

  9. Natalie Noel
    May 30, 2013
    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll put you down for the 12th!

  10. dreamsinsong
    May 30, 2013

    Me too! Anytime after the 16th. (Also, sorry I didn’t get this month’s in, but hey. May. Pressure and school and business and zero time for computer. June is much better.)

    Thanks!

    Oh… realityisimaginary.blogspot.com

    –Jane

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      No worries about the post. 🙂 And I’ll give you the 17th.

  11. Charlotte Hall
    May 30, 2013

    Ooh ooh! Me please! 🙂 Any day past the tenth is good, but I’m sure I will be able to do before if it isn’t possible 🙂

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll give you the 13th! 🙂

  12. cait
    May 30, 2013

    The prompt is awesome. Sign me up! Whatever date.

    notebooksisters.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll put you down for the 14th!

  13. justcallsaul
    May 30, 2013

    Sounds good, count me in for any date 🙂

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Putting you down for the 15th! 🙂

  14. Jenny
    May 30, 2013

    Can I join too? I would prefer a date towards the end of the month, although anything works.

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Of course! Is the 19th late enough?

      • Jenny
        June 4, 2013

        That’s the day I take my last final! Yay! 🙂

  15. averythorne
    May 30, 2013

    Sure, I’ll do this!

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 16th.

  16. tomte
    May 30, 2013

    HAHAHA I remembered to sign up! *cue evil laughter* Anything after the 12th works for me (although I’d orefer a weekday if you can work it in)

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Yay! I’ll put you down for the 18th. 🙂

  17. loonytuney
    May 31, 2013

    Oops. Completely forgot my May post :/ anyway, I promise to participate this time. Here’s my blog: http://theloonyteenwriter.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      No worries, and awesome! I’ll give you the 20th!

  18. Andrea
    May 31, 2013

    Count me in! I’m pretty much free for the entire month.

    http://myswordandpen.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 21st!

  19. Meredith Waugh
    May 31, 2013

    Sign me up! Any day is good (I’ve got WordPress on mobile) but, if given the choice, I’d prefer a day either late or early in the month.
    Dreamerheadquarters.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      Let’s do late in the month. 🙂 Is the 22nd cool with you?

      • Meredith Waugh
        June 2, 2013

        Totally. I am so excited about this month’s prompt! Can’t wait to start writing.

  20. emilyakatroll
    June 1, 2013

    http://www.documentaryofateenagewriter.wordpress.com

    I can’t do 10-13 because I’ll be at camp.

    • John Hansen
      June 1, 2013

      I’ll give you the 23rd, then!

      • emilyakatroll
        June 2, 2013

        Thank you! 😀

  21. Leinad
    June 2, 2013

    May I join the chain? If I can have a day after the 21st it would be appreciated.

    I’m at http://anmksmeanderingmind.wordpress.com

  22. I would love to participate! Any day works for me 🙂

    http://www.brookeharrison.com

    (This is maybe my 6th or 7th time commenting… Hope it works!!)

    • John Hansen
      June 3, 2013

      Ah, sorry it took so many tries! 😦 I’ll put you down for the 24th!

  23. Amanda
    June 3, 2013

    Er…I seem to have forgotten something rather important. *blushes* Where do I get the list of participants from? I can’t believe I forgot…sorry!

    • John Hansen
      June 3, 2013

      Hey! I’ll post the list in a few hours. It’ll be on the blog chain page. 🙂 I’ll reply again when it’s up!

      • Amanda
        June 3, 2013

        Okay, thanks. Not used to being first. 😛

      • John Hansen
        June 3, 2013

        The list is up!

  24. themagicviolinist
    June 3, 2013

    Very excited to do this for the first time! 😀 I’ve always wanted to participate! 😀

  25. Brittani Layne(NevilleFan)
    June 4, 2013

    Ahhh I missed this one…Oh, well, it would’ve ended up another post about Harry Potter 😄
    I’ll be reading everyone else’s posts!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in Blog Chain and tagged , , , , .
May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
