Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

TCWT December 2013 Blog Chain

Ladies, gentlemen, and all variations thereupon, we are delighted to announce that the Teens Can Write Too! blog chain is back for December 2013!

After granting me posting privileges, John told me that I was free to do whatever I wanted – a statement he may regret in the future. In the meantime, however, I shall temporarily curtail my plans for world domination (teen writers are a crucial part in this particular strategy, but I can’t go into details or somebody will try and stop me), and restrict myself to organising the blog chain for December.

For those who don’t know me, my name is Miriam Joy. I blog at Miriam Joy Writes; I’m the co-author of a book called St Mallory’s Forever; and I have a slight obsession with mythology and dead languages. It’s delightful to meet you. I hope you’re all well, and ready for a new prompt.

We all wish we could enter fictional worlds sometimes. For some of us, we’re still waiting for our Hogwarts letter, or we’re not sure why we haven’t been recruited by SHIELD to join the Avengers Initiative. Others are convinced they have what it takes to win the Hunger Games or get through their faction training. When I was nine or ten, I tried repeatedly to read myself into a book like Meggie from Inkheart.

And so your prompt is this:

Which fictional world would you most like to be a part of, and what role do you think you would fulfil within it?

How would you make your living? Would you even survive? Don’t feel that you have to stick to jobs outlined canonically in the books – use your imagination about who else might exist in this society.

To sign up for the blog chain, leave your name / blog URL in the comments below and let us know which dates you prefer. The blog chain will start in the first week of December, though if we have too many participants, some may have to double up on days. 🙂

I look forward to reading your responses to this prompt!

Miriam Joy

About Miriam Joy

Writer, reader, book reviewer, and ASNaC student at Cambridge. I'm queer, suffer from chronic pain & fatigue, and am far too enthusiastic about swords.

64 comments on “TCWT December 2013 Blog Chain

  1. Miss Alexandrina
    November 17, 2013

    Oh, cool prompt, Miriam. It’s December, so I might well actually be able to take part. Don’t know which world I’d choose, though. I guess I could do the HP world, since a Harry-Potter-obsessed IT-student friend of mine created Chocolate frog cards of me and her. Oh, and I play real life Quidditch, so that may well give me something to talk about. *grin*
    I’m gonna be unoriginal, okay? 😛
    Sign me up for something after the 20th. I’d say late 20s, but I fully understand that we never really stretch beyond the 25th, and I don’t want to break the chain, so to speak!
    Ax

    • Miriam Joy
      November 17, 2013

      I’ll give you the 22nd (the 25th would be Christmas Day anyway, which seems a weird time to post… meh), if that’s okay? It’s a good date. I like the number 22.

      • Miss Alexandrina
        November 17, 2013

        Sure. If I find out I can’t post that day (or have trouble scheduling the post for that day), I’ll send out a distress call!
        I think some people do post on Christmas day… Not me personally, for I keep those three days free, but… *shrugs*

      • Miriam Joy
        November 17, 2013

        Scheduling is always an option 🙂

  2. debrocheleau
    November 17, 2013

    I’d like to take part! Sounds like fun. I’m pretty flexible with the date, though maybe something before the 20th, since I don’t yet know my plans for the holidays.

    My blog is at http://deborahrocheleau.wordpress.com/. Let me know what date would be good.

    Thanks!

    Deborah Rocheleau

    • Miriam Joy
      November 17, 2013

      Do you want to start us off with the 5th December?

  3. maralaurey
    November 17, 2013

    It is so unbelievably awesome that the blog chain is back! Yay! Can I sign up too? 🙂 A weekend date would be best for me but through the joys of scheduling (and free periods at school, mwahahaha) any day would be great. 🙂

  4. matttblack42
    November 17, 2013

    I’d like to join. I’d prefer an early date, but anything’s fine. And I’m glad I’m not the only one to try reading themselves into a book.

  5. kenziewriter
    November 17, 2013

    I would love to join this blog chain! My blog is at http://nextpagebookreviews.blogspot.com
    If I was to join any fiction world… To be honest, I can’t help but imagine myself living in the world of Hush Hush, Fallen, Shiver, etc etc etc. These three series are not exactly alternate worlds, so much as they are reality with a twinge of paranormal fantasy mixed in. But, if I was to pick a fiction world, I would have to pick Divergent. I’m a Dauntless member by nature (after taking the quiz and receiving this answer, it only furthered by interest) Anyway, I would work towards the initiative. Fake friendships and relationships and weasel my way into the initiative. BUT, back in reality, I would prefer a Friday night anytime in December. If you have no Fridays open, then a Saturday would be great too. I have so many clubs and teams and competitions during the week, it’s not even funny.

    • Miriam Joy
      November 17, 2013

      Don’t tell us everything now – save it for the post! Is the 13th okay for you? It’s a Friday.

  6. Susannah Ailene Martin
    November 17, 2013

    Hi, this is my first time doing this. Could you give me a date sometime in the middle of the month, preferably on a Saturday.

  7. themagicviolinist
    November 17, 2013

    Sign me up! 😀 Whenever is okay, as long as it is not the 23rd, 24th, 25th, 26th, or the 31st. 🙂

  8. Liam, Head Phil
    November 17, 2013

    TCWT is back! Yay! I’m definitely in, whenever you’d like.

  9. Kira Budge
    November 17, 2013

    I’m in. I’m good for any Wednesday or Saturday.

    • Miriam Joy
      November 17, 2013

      I’ll put you down for the 11th, which is a Wednesday 🙂

  10. Brooke Harrison (@1bro2syd)
    November 17, 2013

    Love this prompt! If possible, I’d like to post earlier in the month rather than later! Thanks! 🙂

    • Miriam Joy
      November 17, 2013

      The 12th is probably the earliest left unless we start before the fifth. Is that okay?

  11. Erin
    November 17, 2013

    Yes! TCWT is back! So joining!
    Can I have an early date please?

  12. Tara Therese
    November 17, 2013

    Can I take part in the prompt? I haven’t yet decided what fictional world I’d like to live in but I’ll think about it after I finish NaNo. Could I have a date before the 20th?

    • Miriam Joy
      November 24, 2013

      The only one I have is the 19th — is that okay? (Sorry for the late reply; for some odd reason I didn’t get a notification about this comment.)

  13. nevillegirl
    November 17, 2013

    Could I have… the 15th?

  14. orphu44
    November 17, 2013

    Ooh, I’d like to sign up, please!
    My blog is http://www.mirrormadeofwords.wordpress.com

  15. Vee
    November 18, 2013

    Hey! Hey! I’m in! Any date. Thanks!
    This is so exciting!

  16. Leinad
    November 21, 2013

    May I join? I’d like a date after the 14th, if that’s alright. A date after the 21st would be even better, but not necessary if that’s at all inconvenient.

    • Miriam Joy
      November 21, 2013

      I can give you the 21st itself, if you’d like?

      • Leinad
        November 21, 2013

        Actually, that would be great, thanks. I’ll put it on my calendar — even though I never look at my calendar.

  17. Gwen Coppertsone (Lily J)
    November 21, 2013

    Yay Miriam for reviving the blog chain! I’m for this one. Any day works for me. http://www.lilyjenness.blogspot.com/

  18. Fermata Girl
    November 24, 2013
    • Miriam Joy
      November 24, 2013

      How’s the 20th for you?

      • Fermata Girl
        November 24, 2013

        That’s great! Thanks!

  19. unikkelyfe
    November 30, 2013

    Can I be a part of the blog chain too? I’m 14 and just started my blog a few months ago, and I would really like to be a part of this. I am also a writer so I can handle myself with any topic you throw at me. So, can I?

    • Miriam Joy
      November 30, 2013

      Sure. Is the 23rd okay? I know it’s a bit close to Christmas, but the chain’s been popular this month….

      • unikkelyfe
        November 30, 2013

        Sure I can do the 23rd. Thx

  20. coruscantbookshelf
    November 30, 2013

    nasrielsfanfics.wordpress.com. I can do pretty much any date before the 20th or after the 29th.

    • Miriam Joy
      November 30, 2013

      Eeee, that’s a tricky one. Are you okay with the 4th? It’s very soon but it’s the only way I can fit you in.

  21. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: A Look Back and A Look Ahead | The Little Engine that Couldn't

  22. erinkenobi2893
    December 5, 2013

    Darn it. I’m probably WAY too late. Is it okay if I turn up in the next one? 🙂

    • erinkenobi2893
      December 5, 2013

      And I had better do this soon… since I’m on the higher end of the teen spectrum… Do you count 19-year-olds? Though I’ll probably keep on considering myself a TEEN writer when I’m 30. 😛

      • Miriam Joy
        December 6, 2013

        No problem. Not 100% sure we’ll have a January chain but with any luck we will! And I hope we do… I’m 18 in January and don’t feel like I’m anywhere near the end of being a teenager. I think our official policy is “under 20”.

      • erinkenobi2893
        December 6, 2013

        Ah. 🙂 Thanks. I still have a while before I’m twenty, so I’m good. 😉 I just thought that since in some states 19 is legal adulthood, it might not count.

  23. Pingback: I Have a Crush on a Fictional World (TCWT Blog Chain) | Laughing at Live Dragons

  24. Pingback: Teens Can Write Too! Blog Chain December 2013 | Tara Therese

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2013 by in Blog Chain and tagged , , , , , , .
November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
