Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

May 2014 TCWT Blog Chain

I’m totally thrilled to announce that the blog chain is back–for real this time. After a long hiatus, it’ll once again happen every month, starting this May. (For those who are unfamiliar with what the blog chain is, you can read a brief explanation here.)

So let’s get right to it. The topic for May’s blog chain will be:

What kinds of published books would you like to see more of? 

This is inspired by the Twitter hashtag #RBWL (stands for Reader/Blogger Wishlist), which is basically a place for people to post about the kinds of plots/characters/themes/genres/etc they personally would like to see in more published books. So maybe someone wants to read a published book whose plot is like Hamlet meets Game of Thrones, or someone wants to have more YA historicals on the shelves, or someone else wants there to be more mute characters in literature. Anything fits; it’s all about whatever you wish there could more of. (You can find some examples of what I mean here or here.)

For the sake of this blog chain, you can be as vague or as specific (or, as serious or as random) as you like in your “wishlist.” It’s probably best if you could include more than one idea in your post, though, and it’s even better if you could organize them all into some sort of list. However, that’s certainly not a requirement; if you have a better idea, go for it! You have plenty of freedom with how to respond to this topic.

Hopefully, this will not only be a fun way to explore the different types of books you feel we need more of, but will also provide some writing inspiration for anyone who has been struggling with what to write next. (So in that vein, you may want to be careful about posting story ideas for books that you personally are writing.)

Let me know if you have any questions! Otherwise, to sign up, all you have to do is comment below with a link to your blog and any dates that don’t work for you (if applicable). And new people: you are always welcome to join, too!

(Sign-ups for this blog chain will end on May 3rd. On May 5th, the chain will begin.)

 

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

74 comments on “May 2014 TCWT Blog Chain

  1. spreaderofawesomeness
    April 16, 2014

    I’m fine for any day!
    http://sammitalk.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      April 16, 2014

      That has got to be the fastest sign up we’ve ever had. 🙂 *gives you a badge* And I’ll give you the 5th, then!

  2. coruscantbookshelf
    April 16, 2014

    Count me in. nasrielsfanfics.wordpress.com. Any day.
    And can I call a space for Erin? I know she’d love to do this but I haven’t heard from her in days – Camp Fever. She’s erinkenobi2893.wordpress.com.

    • John Hansen
      April 16, 2014

      Sounds good! I’ll give you the 7th, and I’ll put Erin down for the 8th (but let me know if that doesn’t work for her).

      • erinkenobi2893
        April 16, 2014

        SQUEEEEEE!!! I’m blogging for my birthday! X-D Thanks, Nasriel! And thank you, John Hansen! 🙂

      • John Hansen
        April 17, 2014

        No problem! Happy early birthday! 🙂

      • erinkenobi2893
        April 17, 2014

        Thanks! 🙂

  3. matttblack42
    April 16, 2014

    I wish to join. May I request May 9th?

    • John Hansen
      April 16, 2014

      Yep! 🙂 I put you down for the 9th.

  4. nevillegirl
    April 16, 2014

    May I request May 13? 🙂

  5. Fiona
    April 16, 2014

    I’d love to join. Can I request the 6th? http://www.nerdgirlinc.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      April 16, 2014

      Of course! I’ll put you down for then.

      • Fiona
        April 16, 2014

        Thanks! 🙂

  6. Skylar Finn
    April 16, 2014

    I would love to join! I’m good for any day except for May 6th 🙂 http://randomofalife.blogspot.com/

    • John Hansen
      April 16, 2014

      Perfect, thank you! I’ll give you the 10th. 🙂

  7. Miriam Joy
    April 16, 2014

    Sign me up! Anything between the 16th and the end of May is best for me — I’ve school until the 14th, an exam on the 15th, and then after that I’m good for a couple of weeks. 🙂 (But you know I’m just gonna talk about diversity and queer characters, don’t you?)

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      I’ll give you the 17th, then. (And yes, I totally do! I’m waiting excitedly for it. Personally, I wish we could have more diverse characters in books that aren’t just contemporary. Like I’d love fantasies with really diverse heroes/heroines.)

      • Miriam Joy
        April 17, 2014

        Then you would like my books! Maybe. I don’t know. I mean, say what you like about the plot but they’re diverse. 😉

  8. Olivia Rivers
    April 16, 2014

    Oh! This is an awesometastic prompt. Any chance I could take May 7th? http://oliviarivers.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      Hey! I’d already given away the date above, sorry. 😦 (Though if the 7th is best for you, I could possibly make there be two posts on that day.) Would the 18th work for you, otherwise?

      • Olivia Rivers
        April 17, 2014

        The 18th totally works! Thanks. 🙂

  9. magicandwriting583
    April 16, 2014

    Okay. I’m going to actually try to do one of these this time. Tuesdays are probably the best day for me, but really any weekday except for Wednesdays should be great.

    http://magicandwriting.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      Perfect! I’ll give you the 20th (a Tuesday). And welcome to the chain!

  10. Fida
    April 16, 2014

    I would love to join in! Can I have any date after the 10th? Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      Sure! I’ll give you the 12th. 🙂

      • fida
        May 7, 2014

        Thanks!

  11. Yay, how exciting! I used to love doing the blog chain back in good ol’ 2013.
    My blog: http://theloonyteenwriter.wordpress.com/
    I’d love any Saturday or Wednesday in May, if that’s at all possible 🙂

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      Haha, 2013 seems so far away all of a sudden. And I can definitely do a Wednesday–I’ll give you the 14th!

  12. amandafoody
    April 16, 2014

    Late May, please!!

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      HI! Is the 19th late enough?

  13. Liam, Head Phil
    April 16, 2014

    I’ll participate whenever you’ll have me. Glad the chain is back!

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      Me too! I’ll put you down for the 15th.

  14. Tara Therese
    April 17, 2014

    I love this blog chain topic! I’d like any date in late May please.

    My blog is http://taratherese.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      Thank you so much! I’ll put you down for the 16th.

  15. maralaurey
    April 17, 2014

    Yay, the blog chain is back! I’ve missed it so much! Would it be possible to have a date before the 12th? 🙂

    • John Hansen
      April 17, 2014

      I’ve missed it too! Thanks so much for your excitement. 😉 And yes, I’ll give you the 11th!

  16. unikkelyfe
    April 17, 2014

    I’d like one as soon as possible. I can’t do late May because I’ve got exams. Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      April 18, 2014

      Ack, sorry, I’ve already given away dates through the 20th. Would it be possible for you to write the post ahead of time and, if you have WordPress, schedule it to post automatically on the 21st? But if not, I can give you the same date as someone else earlier in the month. It’s not a big deal. 🙂

      • unikkelyfe
        April 18, 2014

        I’ll take the 21st then. Thanks!

  17. I’d love to participate in the chain! 🙂 If possible, I’d really prefer a Monday or Thursday, but if that’s no longer available any date is fine. Let me know! Thanks!

    http://www.brookeharrison.com

    • John Hansen
      April 18, 2014

      Hey! Actually, the 22nd (a Thursday) would be perfect. I’ll put you down for then! 🙂

  18. anqiyu
    April 19, 2014

    This sounds fun! I’m good for any day. Thanks for putting this on!

    http://eighthundredninety.blogspot.com/

    • John Hansen
      April 25, 2014

      Woohoo! I’ll give you the 23rd!

  19. Erin
    April 20, 2014

    If there’s still a date open, I’d love to join! I’d prefer a later date, if possible.

    • John Hansen
      April 25, 2014

      Of course! I’ll put you down for the 24th, if that works.

      • Erin
        April 25, 2014

        Sounds great!

  20. AvonleaWriter
    April 22, 2014

    If there is a date open, I would like to join!

    • John Hansen
      April 25, 2014

      Definitely. 🙂 I’ll give you the 25th.

  21. TheUnsimpleMind OFDIDA
    April 25, 2014

    Helloo, if there are any dates left I would like to participate! Although I cant do it the 10th or the 25th.

    • John Hansen
      April 27, 2014

      Hi! I’ll put you down for the 26th, then! 🙂

    • John Hansen
      May 4, 2014

      Hey! Do you happen to have a blog link? Your profile goes straight to a Gravatar profile (without a site link). Thanks!

  22. thependanttrilogy
    April 26, 2014

    I was so sure I already commented on this, but I suppose I didn’t! Are there any days left? Preferably on a weekend?

    • John Hansen
      April 27, 2014

      Hey! If you commented already, it must have gone to spam for some reason–sorry! And, I’d love to give you a weekend spot, but since you may be the last person to join, I don’t want to book a date which will make a gap between you and the preceding participant, as I’m not sure that gap will get filled with more participants. So if it works, I’ll put you down for the next day, the 27th (a Tuesday). Or if you’d really prefer a weekend, I can give you the 25th (a Sunday), but then you’d just be doubled-up with another blogger.

      Let me know! 🙂

  23. sunsandstarsanddreams
    May 1, 2014

    Can I sign up too? I’m fine with any day before May 16th and after May 24th maybe. It’s just that I am moving away on May 17th and I’m not sure when my new place will get Internet. :/
    I blog at http://sunsandstarsanddreams.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      May 4, 2014

      Ah, gotcha! I’m going to put you down for the 29th because that’s the latest day we have left, so hopefully you’ll have internet by then. If not, no worries about posting. 🙂 Good luck on the move!

  24. thependanttrilogy
    May 1, 2014

    The 27th is fine! Thanks 🙂

  25. Ack, I almost missed the sign up deadline! (Or maybe I did…)

    Well, if sign ups are still going, I’d like to sign up. Any date works for me.

    • John Hansen
      May 4, 2014

      No worries, I’m only posting the schedule now! I’ll put you down for the 28th. 🙂

  26. Pingback: TCWT Blog Chain Post: May 2014 | Sammi Talk

  27. Pingback: Quick Update – What to watch for . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2014 by in Blog Chain and tagged , , , , , , , .
April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
