Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

Starting After “The End”: Revisions

Starting After “The End”: Revisions

One of the most exciting things about writing is being able to put that big “THE END” at the last page of your novel manuscript, epic poem, short story, what have you. It is SO rewarding. (Don’t act like you don’t do it!) And it makes you feel like this:

Snl-so-freakin-excited

AND

anigif_enhanced-buzz-18301-1384189137-5

But what happens when it’s over? When the piece you have labored on for days, weeks, months, years (yikes!) is done.  I mean, once you put “THE END” on a piece, it’s perfect. There really isn’t anything else you need to do. Except, of course, submit it to agents, editors, teachers, etc., and wait for the praise to come. Because it will come. Right?

What happens when that doesn’t happen?

What happens when the “end” isn’t really the end? What happens when it’s just the beginning? For most of us, the end, this first end, isn’t actually the end. So what do you do? What do you do after you finish a novel, set it aside for a month or two, and then realize it sucks?

qoxNxBE

Sometimes your baby doesn’t turn out like you thought it would and all you really can do is… revise. Yep. Revisions. Most writers either hate ‘em or love ‘em. I happen to be in the “love” group. I don’t really outline so revising, for me, is all about restructuring my “beautiful” work.

Here’s my process:

  1. I reread it. No pens in hand. I go over it like one might read a book they’ve been dying to read: in one sitting. This usually consists of me laughing, crying, laughing some more and realizing it doesn’t suck as bad as I thought. (Yay!!!) However, by the time I’m done, I should have some idea of what needs to be fixed.
  2. I reread it again. Pens in hand. I like red pens. I also like pink and purple pens. (I have lots of colorful pens.) But it really doesn’t matter the color of the pen so long as the manuscript is in my hand this round. By that I mean I need to print it out. (*cue screams, etc. about wasting paper*–I know, but it helps.) I print it out and read it as if it’s not even mine. I pretend I’m my worst critic. I start, maybe with the red pen, picking apart structural issues: why does she say she only has a brother in this scene and only a sister in the next? For my recent mystery novel I realized several clues didn’t match up. Then I pick another color and make note of times the character isn’t acting herself. I like to call these times when Patrice is pushing her agenda as the writer instead of letting the character react. Then I pick another color and edit for grammar. I do this as many times as I need for the issues my story has.
  3. I edit using my handy dandy marked up manuscript (see #2). Sometimes I start with grammar, especially if I don’t know how to fix the structural issues. Sometimes I begin with the character because, let’s face it, if your character isn’t “on point,” your story won’t be either.
  4. I spend at least one day revising my opening scene. A lot of times I write a scene that I, as the writer, think the reader needs for a beginning. With my most recent MS, I knew she was a retired con artist who for some reason was at a criminals anonymous support group that took place in a Catholic church. So when I edited, it was not the scene, per se, that I changed, it was the layout. Remember, you have write how your character would see things. Whereas I might notice the people first and whereas I generally use parenthetical asides, etc. my character’s a very direct person. So I had to revise that scene, and others, with her in mind.
  5. I continue to revise and edit until I think it’s ready. And then I send it to friends, critique partners, people I trust to be brutally honest. With their help, I revise again.
  6. Then I set it free!

Hopefully my steps will help you with your own revisions! Remember, in writing, the “ending” is really a beginning of a whole new process. Dig in, keep improving things, and enjoy the ride.

*For some help with #4, or character in general, I love this post by author Chuck Wendig: http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/10/28/plot-and-character/ I often use his guide after I’ve finished writing the story to provide clarification on who my character is and to hone into her voice.

Happy revising!

About Patrice

I'm a 21-year-old introvert gone wild & modern-day Renaissance girl. I like reading everything I can get my hands on, baking messy treats, following my favorite designers (J'adore Elie Saab), and laughing (a lot). I write genre-bending, speculative fiction stories for young adults and middle graders. Most of them feature life-changing secrets, forbidden friendships, and the coolest girls you'll ever meet.

7 comments on “Starting After “The End”: Revisions

  1. Julia Byers
    December 13, 2014

    Great post, Patrice! 🙂 Love your revision process.

  2. stardustwriters
    December 15, 2014

    I’m currently in revision hell, and found your post rather comforting. I’m somewhere between steps 4 and 5 right now. I can’t wait to get to the “setting it free” part. Great post!
    -Julz

  3. beagirllikeme
    December 15, 2014

    Great blog! We are trying to get more girls to blog and read! Love it!

  4. Pingback: Friday Finds: Week 12 | Avid Reader

  5. Taylor Lynn
    December 21, 2014

    Great post!! I’m hoping to begin revisions on my WIP after Christmas, and I LOVE your list–it sounds like a fantastic way to go forward into revisions and I definitely think I’ll be following some of your suggestions. 🙂 Like you, I didn’t really plot this book out so I’m looking forward to edits as a chance to fix so much of the structure, plot, character, and everything else that got tangled the first time around. Thanks for this post–very encouraging for me!

  6. Pingback: Writing Advice, Agent Interviews, Teen Authors, And More | Teens Can Write, Too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2014 by in Revising.
December 2014
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
