Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

TCWT January 2015 Blog Chain

tcwt (3)

Hi everyone!

Thank you so much for another awesome blog chain this December! All of your posts rocked, as per usual.

This month’s blog chain topic was suggested by Heather at Sometimes I’m A Story, and I’m incredibly excited about it.

“What is something you feel is generally written well in fiction? What is something you feel is generally written poorly?” 

For example, most books may explore, say, religion well, but do a horrible job with love triangles. Or most books may do a great job of describing how lonely being a teenager can be, but fail to include realistic LGBTQ+ characters. etc etc etc.

Basically, anything you think fits, fits. Like with all blog chains, I really want you to have as much freedom with this topic as you need.

(Also – if you have any questions about this or future topics, please don’t hesitate to ask.)

While it’s encouraged that you cover at least one example of something generally written well and something generally written poorly, if you’d rather focus in-depth on only one part of the question–so, maybe you post only about stuff that you feel is generally written poorly, for example–that’s totally fine.

*If you’re interested in participating in this month’s blog chain, comment below with a link to your blog and any days you can’t post on, and I’ll assign you a date.

*If you’re new to the site and are wondering what the blog chain is, you can find out more here. You are more than welcome to join in, of course. We’re always looking for more participants. 🙂

***

And, in more general news, I just want to say thank you. Thank you–all of you–for such a great year here at TCWT. I’m honored that you guys follow this blog; I’m honored that you participate in our blog chains; and I’m honored that our posts even help to inspire some of you. When I started this blog over three years ago, I never expected it to grow to this extent, but I am so, so grateful it has. 

Here’s to bigger and better things in 2015!

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

73 comments on “TCWT January 2015 Blog Chain

  1. Precious @ Clockwork Desires
    December 30, 2014

    This one looks really interesting! Can I have towards the end of the month?

  2. T
    December 30, 2014

    Hello 🙂 I’m open for anything except for MLK day; I had something planned for that day. 🙂

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Hi! Would you be okay leading us off on the 5th? 🙂

      • T
        January 2, 2015

        Alright. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. matttblack42
    December 31, 2014

    I’m in! Any date’s fine.

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! Putting you down for the 12th.

  4. Heather
    December 31, 2014

    Once again, I’m in. Any day is fine. 🙂

    semilegacy.blogspot.com

    • Heather
      January 1, 2015

      This is kind of a weird request but WHAT THE HECK. The worst you can say is no, right?

      Anyway, I also work on another blog with a friend, and I think this is something my friend might like to talk about as well (and we haven’t really found a real community to hang out with, and when I started these I realized how important community is). SO is there a way I might be able to manage sneaking in the other blog? I don’t want to double dip and I don’t want to take anyone else’s spot, so I don’t know if it would work to sign up both blogs for the same day, or something, for two posts? Maybe? *wince* I feel like it’s a little outrageous.

      If not, that’s fine. But the other blog is http://wanderinginablur.blogspot.com/, if that’s a possibility.

      • John Hansen
        January 2, 2015

        Hey Heather! That sounds totally okay with me. What would you prefer? Both one day, or separate days? If on separate days: I’ll put your normal blog down for the 10th, and then the other blog for whatever day is left after I go through everyone’s requests, if that’s all right?

        Doesn’t matter either way. 🙂 Thanks again for the awesome topic!

      • John Hansen
        January 2, 2015

        All right, so I’ll put you down for the 10th and your second blog down for the 25th, if that’s okay!

      • Heather
        January 2, 2015

        Sounds perfect! Thank you so much!

  5. irisbloom5
    December 31, 2014

    I’m in this month! Anything after the 16th is fine for me.

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Sounds good! I’m putting you down for the 22nd. 🙂

  6. Alyssa
    December 31, 2014

    Had to skip last month’s, but so excited to do the first chain in 2015! Sometime in the last week of January would be best, because I’m taking my exams and SAT before then 🙂 Thanks!

    randommorbidinsanity.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Wait, dude, are we taking the SATs on the same day? I’m taking it on the 25th (I think?) for the second and have yet to even begin studying. I’m so screwed.

      Also – I’m putting you down for the 26th because that’s the latest date right now. But if someone else joins, want me to bump you back to the 27th?

  7. jasperlindell
    December 31, 2014

    Hello again. I’m quite interested in giving it another go this month. Can do any day, but also happy to go first. (Blog at: http://jasperlindell.blogspot.com) … JL

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! 🙂 I’ll put you down for the 6th, if that’s okay. (You’d be second.)

      • jasperlindell
        January 2, 2015

        Thank you! Second’s good, too! … JL

  8. Kiwi- rippedoutpages
    December 31, 2014

    Ooh! This prompt’s great. I haven’t been able to do the last couple of months’ but I’m in this time! Would it be possible to have a date around mid January? Thanks!

    dynamicramblings.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! And sure, that sounds good. I’ll put you down for the 14th. 🙂

  9. Miriam Joy
    December 31, 2014

    Me please! An early date is probably better but I can always schedule. 🙂

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 8th. 🙂

  10. debrocheleau
    December 31, 2014

    I’m in. Can do any date

    Deborahrocheleau.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! Will put you down for the 21st.

  11. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    December 31, 2014

    I’d like to do this. Any day is good. http://www.alwaysopinionatedgirl.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Sounds good! I’ll put you down for the 20th.

  12. ponymad2booklover
    December 31, 2014

    Please can I do this? I’m free any day.
    https://gallopingfree.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Of course! I’ll put you down for the 19th. 🙂

  13. erinkenobi2893
    December 31, 2014

    May I post on the Third? I’m asking for that because I’m off from work and I can’t resist this prompt. 😉 I really want to do well by it–while there are always things that could be done better, there are a few genres I really want to rant about.
    https://erinkenobi2893.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Oh, ack, sorry, I should’ve read this sooner. The chain actually won’t start until the 5th, but you can write and schedule your post today/tomorrow if that’s easier. I’m tentatively putting you down for the 7th, if that’s okay, since that’s an early date, but if you need me to change it I can figure something out. 🙂 Let me know!

      • erinkenobi2893
        January 2, 2015

        Okay. I’ll write my post tomorrow and schedule it for the 7th. The problem is, I may not be able to actually integrate the schedule, proper. :-S Work is so annoying. (Wish I was a superhero for real… *sigh*)

      • John Hansen
        January 2, 2015

        Is there a day after the 12th until the end of the month that’d work better for you? I can switch you out right now, before I schedule too many people.

      • erinkenobi2893
        January 3, 2015

        I don’t think so. The 7th should be fine.

      • John Hansen
        January 2, 2015

        Okay, I’m going to assume you’re staying with the 7th and keep going with the schedule. But if you decide it doesn’t work, I can probably add you to the end of the month.

      • erinkenobi2893
        January 3, 2015

        It should work just fine, thanks. 🙂

  14. I’ll do the prompt this month. I can take any day.

    http://butterfliesoftheimagination.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Woohoo! Putting you down for the 18th. 🙂

  15. moppestein
    December 31, 2014

    I can do any day really,preferably earlier in the month, and I’d love to try this.

    https://ramblingsofaravis.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 9th. 🙂

  16. maralaurey
    December 31, 2014

    Ooh this sounds exciting! I’m fine with any day 🙂

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 13th. 🙂

  17. Edwina Mapenzi
    December 31, 2014

    Hi count me in. I’d love to participate, any day’s fine with me!

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 15th. 🙂

  18. riachl
    December 31, 2014

    I’m in. (: Could I have a date near the end of the month? (In the middle is good too)

  19. Julia Byers
    December 31, 2014

    I’m good for any day but Wednesdays. 🙂 http://www.juliathewritergirl.com

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Cool. 🙂 Putting you down for the 17th!

  20. Kira Budge
    January 1, 2015

    Wednesdays and Saturdays are preferable, as always. 🙂 This’ll be an interesting challenge.

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 11th, a Saturday, then! Loved your post last month.

  21. Clarice
    January 2, 2015

    I’m in! A date near the end of month would be nice.

    https://introspectioncreative.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      January 2, 2015

      Woohoo! I’ll put you down for the 24th. 🙂

  22. coruscantbookshelf
    January 3, 2015

    I can take anything before the 22nd, ’cause then my computer’s packed for freight. nasrielsfanfics.wordpress.com.

    • John Hansen
      January 3, 2015

      Ah, sorry, I always wait to make the schedule to keep something like this from happening, but I guess it didn’t work out this time. Anyway – I have slots through then filled up. 😦 I can give you the 26th or 27th and you can schedule your post ahead of time, or you can potentially ask someone to switch out with you for one of those days, if you know anyone assigned a date before then (see the comments above). Sorry, dude!

    • John Hansen
      January 3, 2015

      Or, actually, possibly the easier option: I can just double-up on a date before the 22nd. So we’d just have two people posting then. Do you have a preference as to which day?

      • coruscantbookshelf
        January 3, 2015

        Can we really? That’s great. Can I double-up on the 7th with Erin, please?

      • John Hansen
        January 3, 2015

        Yep, that’d be great. I’ll put you down for then. 🙂

  23. ann3e
    January 3, 2015

    I’d love to write a post for this. I can do any day.
    anotefromthenerd.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      January 3, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 26th, then! Welcome to the chain! 🙂

  24. unikkelyfe
    January 4, 2015

    I’m so in!
    Any day after the 15th works.
    Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      January 4, 2015

      Awesome! Putting you down for the 28th. 🙂

  25. Pingback: What I Like And Dislike In Literature, Part I: Relationships In YA Dystopian Novels (Teens Can Write, Too!) | Musings From Neville's Navel

  26. Pingback: What I Like And Dislike In Literature, Part II: Relationships In Fantasy (Teens Can Write, Too!) | Musings From Neville's Navel

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2014 by in Blog Chain and tagged , , , , , .
December 2014
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
