Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

February 2015 TCWT Blog Chain

tcwt (3)

Hey everyone! For this month’s blog chain, I want to focus on something we here on the blog have yet to cover: music. Specifically, how music influences our writing, and in what ways we use it for inspiration (if at all). So:

“How does music relate to your writing?” 

The above is this month’s formalized topic, but you can really take it as: “Talk about music and writing.” That is essentially the only requirement. I’m not looking for anything specific. However you want to set up your post–whether you simply want to share playlist(s) you’ve created for your book(s), or you want to talk about your favorite artists to listen to, how certain songs have possibly inspired some of your previous works, or how music fits into your everyday writing process, etc–is totally good with me. (You’re also welcome to do a mix of things. Or, to be honest, to just spend the whole post gushing about awesome songs to write to. This is a really open topic.)

I do realize that not everyone listens to music while they write, though, and if you fit that description, you’re also welcome to talk about why that is, and what you use instead to spur creativity (or to escape from your surroundings).

Thanks everyone! As usual, just comment below with a link to your blog and I’ll assign you a date. The schedule will go up on February 4th; the blog chain will begin on February 5th.

[If you’re new to the site and are wondering what the blog chain is, you can find out more here. You are also more than welcome to join in. We’re always looking for more participants!]

 

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

98 comments on “February 2015 TCWT Blog Chain

  1. John Hansen
    January 28, 2015

    Just a note to my future self to give http://nasrielsfanfics.wordpress.com/ the last spot in this month’s chain.

    (P.S. Guys – I’m still going through all of your posts from January and will do my best to leave comments on each of them, but: I’m really loving them. You all are awesome.)

  2. irisbloom5
    January 28, 2015

    This is one of the best topics yet! I can do any day except Saturdays, Thursdays, and Presidents Day Weekend.

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’m so happy you like it! I’ll put you down for the 17th (the day after Presidents’ Day). 🙂

  3. moppestein
    January 28, 2015

    I’d like to participate. I can do any day except for the first weekend (6-7-8) and Valentine’s day. Thanks !

  4. Bridget
    January 28, 2015

    I’d love to join this one! It sounds like a lot of fun, I love rambling about music 😉 Anything works, but I’d definitely prefer something later on in the month.

    Link: https://stayandwatchthestars.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I love rambling about music too, ha. 🙂 Can’t wait to read your post! I put you down for the 21st.

      • Bridget
        February 1, 2015

        Alright, thanks!

  5. riachl
    January 28, 2015

    I’d like to do this. Could I have one at the end of the month?

    • riachl
      January 28, 2015

      horsfeathersblog.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Sure! I’ll put you down for the 19th.

      • riachl
        February 2, 2015

        That’ll work. Thanks John (:

  6. Alyssa
    January 28, 2015

    Ooh, this sounds like a fun one. I’d prefer sometime in the first two weeks, but I can do any day except for, ironically, my birthday on the 27th. I’m planning something special on the blog that day, so. Can’t wait to do this one!

    • Alyssa
      January 28, 2015

      Oops, forgot my URL: randommorbidinsanity.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Can’t wait to see what’s in store on your birthday! And I’ll put you down for the 12th. 🙂

  7. Kira Budge
    January 28, 2015

    Wednesdays and Saturdays! =D Thanks John!

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      The 14th is a Saturday, so I’ll put you down for then!

      • Kira Budge
        February 4, 2015

        WHOO HOO VALENTINE’S DAY IS MY FAVORITE HOLIDAY (after Christmas).

  8. Emily @ Loony Literate
    January 28, 2015

    Sign me up! I was actually going to do a similar post ages ago and never got around to it. Yay for motivation. My blog is loonyliterate.com and if I could have a spot towards the end of the month, that would be awesome!

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 22nd! Also, your new site is amazing. And look at all the BOOKS.

  9. Miriam Joy
    January 29, 2015

    Sign me up! I’ve talked about this sort of thing on my blog before, but I’m always making new playlists so there’s always something new to say.

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 13th.

  10. lillianmwoodall
    January 29, 2015

    Ooh, I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately! I can do any day next month 🙂

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Woohoo! I’ll put you down for the 15th. 🙂

  11. Alexandrina Brant
    January 29, 2015

    Let’s say Weds 25th. That’ll be after my essay and presentation deadlines, then. 🙂

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Deal! 🙂

  12. Jasper Lindell
    January 29, 2015

    I’d love to have another go! Early on again in the chain would be handy, any day. (Blog here: http://jasperlindell.blogspot.com/)

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 6th, then. I really loved your post last month (I just need to get around and catch up on commenting).

    • vergeofexisting
      February 3, 2015

      Hey Jasper! Would there be any way that you could switch with me? I’m the 5th and I noticed that you wanted something early? I had a schedule change that will make it really hard to post tomorrow. No worries if you can’t though!

      • John Hansen
        February 4, 2015

        Hey! So I’m just going to start the chain on the 6th, since you can’t post tomorrow. You both will be scheduled to start us off then. 🙂

      • vergeofexisting
        February 5, 2015

        Thank you! 🙂

  13. A.R. Files
    January 29, 2015

    I’ll try this one! 🙂
    If it’s good for you, I’ll take the 7th! 😉

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      The 7th works great! 🙂

      • A.R. Files
        February 9, 2015

        Sorry, Hansen! I had a dentist appt. on the 7th that lasted for hours (and I got numbed. Go figure.). I’ll be posting tonight! XD

  14. unikkelyfe
    January 29, 2015

    I can do the 23, 24, 25, or 26! I have a holiday on those days.
    Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 23rd!

  15. nevillegirl
    January 29, 2015

    Oh, yay! Could I have… either the 5th or the 9th? Thanks! THIS PROMPT IS SO COOL ADGKJHDGLDAG I’ve actually been thinking about writing a post about how necessary music is to my writing…

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’m so happy you like it! Can’t wait to see your post. (If I ever write a fantasy, I’m going to make my playlist for that book just be the Game of Thrones theme song on loop, haha.) I’ll put you down for the 9th!

      • nevillegirl
        February 2, 2015

        Whoooooa, wait, I just realized I have the 9th for another link-up! Umm… could I double up dates with someone else, maybe on the 5th or 11th? God, I’m so sorry about this. :/

  16. Precious @ Clockwork Desires
    January 29, 2015
    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Sounds good! 🙂

  17. Hi, can I have a Monday, Wednesday or Friday? Thanks. Here’s my blog URL: http://butterfliesoftheimagination.wordpress.com/.

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 11th, a Wednesday. 🙂

  18. themagicviolinist
    January 29, 2015

    Ooh, very excited! 🙂 I haven’t done one of these in a while, and the topic sounds awesome. Here’s my blog: http://themagicviolinist.blogspot.com/ If you’re able to, I’d love it if I could get a date sometime towards the middle/end of the month.

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 24th! Yay that you’re joining! 🙂

  19. Edwina Mapenzi
    January 29, 2015

    Count me in, can’t wait. theedfiles.blogspot.com, any day will do!

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’m putting you down for the 16th, then. 🙂

  20. Katheline Hansen
    January 29, 2015

    Could I have any day in the middle or end of the month?

    http://fantasiesofapockethuman.blogspot.com/

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Sure! I’ll put you down for the 16th. 🙂

  21. Could I have the beginning of February please?
    http://www.freeasagirlwithwings.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Yep! I just put you down for the 8th.

      • Ok thanks! Would it be okay if I posted maybe on the ninth but you can still put me down for the eighth?

      • John Hansen
        February 1, 2015

        That’d be okay, yeah! Though (depending on how many people join/how many spots I have left) I may have to double-up on dates, and I could move you to the 9th if you’d prefer. But if I don’t update you further, just assume you’re still the 8th (and you can post a day late, yeah). 🙂

      • I think the ninth would work better. I just planned my blog hop and party to be on the right; sorry.

      • John Hansen
        February 1, 2015

        Just moved you to the 9th! So it works out in the end, haha. 🙂

      • Yay thanks 🙂

  22. orphu44
    January 29, 2015

    I’d like to participate — I’m pretty open for which day, really. https://www.mirrormadeofwords.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 22nd. 🙂

  23. Heather
    January 29, 2015

    Seems I’m a little late—it’s okay if you have to boot me; there doesn’t seem to be as much interaction right now, so I don’t mind if I don’t nab a spot.

    semilegacy.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Pfft, we totally want you to join! I’m sneaking you in for the 18th. 🙂

      • Heather
        February 2, 2015

        Sounds like a plan. XD

  24. Julia Byers
    January 29, 2015

    Any day but Wednesdays! 🙂 http://www.juliathewritergirl.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Putting you down for the 8th!

  25. Stacy N.
    January 29, 2015

    Any day is fine with me. http://from-stacy.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 18th, then! 🙂

      • Stacy N.
        February 1, 2015

        Sounds great. ^.^

  26. Allison the Writer
    January 30, 2015

    I’d love to participate if there’s room! 🙂

    My blog is: allisonthewriter.wordpress.com.

    I’d prefer if my post date was towards the end of the month, but it needn’t be the very end! (I’m also rarely online Saturdays, but I’m pretty good at scheduling posts ahead of time.)

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I have to double-up on dates at this point, but that’s totally okay. There’s always room. 🙂 I’ll put you down for the 24th, if that works!

      • Allison the Writer
        February 1, 2015

        Okay!

      • Allison the Writer
        February 5, 2015

        Quick question – is there a list of the other bloggers that I should be including in my post when it comes out?

  27. erinkenobi2893
    January 30, 2015

    Oooh! I had thought that my last TCWT chain would be January, but now I have to sign up for this one!!! I blog at erinkenobi2893.wordpress.com.

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’m glad! We aren’t quite ready to see you go. 😛 I’ll put you down for the 15th!

      • erinkenobi2893
        February 1, 2015

        Okay! 😀 And thanks for the compliment 😛

  28. magic-esi
    January 30, 2015

    Hey, I’m planning to join the blog chain. I’m good with any day, though my blog posts are generally Wednesdays and Saturdays (but I’m OK with doing something on another day). My blog is arielkalati.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 21st, a Saturday, then! 🙂

  29. vergeofexisting
    January 31, 2015

    February 5th is good! This is an awesome prompt!! 😀

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Thank you! And I’ll put you down for the 5th. You get to lead us off this time! 🙂

  30. Katie Grace
    January 31, 2015

    Is it too late to join? I’d like a later date, after the 25th preferably. Though if that isn’t possible, I can try to make any date except the 24th work.

    http://awritersfaith.blogspot.com/

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 26th, then! 🙂

      • Katie Grace
        February 1, 2015

        Awesome! Thanks. 🙂

  31. Pamela Nicole
    February 1, 2015

    This sounds awesome! Any day is fine with me 🙂

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      I’ll put you down for the 11th, then! 🙂

  32. This sounds right up my street 😀 I can do any day, though towards the end of the month would be preferable – but anything suits me 🙂

  33. matttblack42
    February 1, 2015

    Is it too late to join? Because I’d love to do this one.

    • John Hansen
      February 1, 2015

      Not too late at all! I’m just doubling up on dates because February is so short, so if that’s okay with you, I’ll put you down for the 27th.

  34. T
    February 1, 2015

    Hey! I’m back again. Since I’m so late, I’ll take any day you have. Sorry it took me so long to respond!

    T

    • John Hansen
      February 4, 2015

      No worries! I’ll put you down for the 13th. 🙂

      • T
        February 5, 2015

        Cool, thanks!

  35. Brooke Harrison (@1bro2syd)
    February 6, 2015

    Sorry I’m so late!! Can I still participate?? If possible, I’d really appreciate a Monday or Thursday. 🙂 Great prompt!

  36. Pingback: TCWT Blog Chain: Music and Writing | Julia the Writer Girl

  37. Pingback: Listen to Envision | The A.R. Files

  38. Pingback: Where Words Fail, Music Speaks – Teens Can Write, Too! February 2015 Blog Chain | Musings From Neville's Navel

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2015 by in Blog Chain and tagged , , , , .
January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
