Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

TCWT November 2014 Blog Chain

Hey guys!

It’s time to announce the topic for the next blog chain, which begins on November 5th. I’m really excited about this one, and even though the topic is a little different from the norm, I think it could have some truly awesome results.

Use pictures and individual words to show what, to you, is the essence of being a teenager. 

By that, I mean for you to talk about what feelings and emotions and ideas you feel represent your teen experience. Basically, I want to know what growing up means to you.

Although this topic is not directly about writing, I think–considering that a lot of us write YA, which focuses on the lives of teenagers–that it’s relevant. Hopefully it’ll get us to take a hard look at ourselves and our teen experiences, and figure out what, to us, are that experience’s most important characteristics. (If you write YA, this might even translate into your own writing, as it could help you figure out what themes connect your characters.) We all have different stories, and seeing how people define theirs during this wacky section of life called being a teenager could be hugely insightful, even inspiring. Books, after all, are about people and their stories.

Also, for the first time, I plan to publish a roundup blog post on TCWT when the chain ends, and I’ll feature my favorite word and/or picture from each blog (and will link back to all of your posts), so onlookers can get a glimpse into the different responses.

Some side notes: by “pictures,” I mean pretty anything. You can use a normal stock image, or you can use a drawing (by you or someone else), a painting, a comic, a meme–anything. You can either take your own photos (maybe of stuff around your room, outside your home, or something else altogether), or you can use photos on the internet. However, if you choose the latter option, please make sure to link back to the source. I really want to be sure credit is given to the photographer or artist.

As for “individual words,” I mean a list of words that you feel is integral to your teen experience. (BTW – please only share what you feel comfortable sharing. There is no pressure to reveal more or less about yourself than you want to.) You can show these words by actually typing out a list of in your blog post, or by writing them on notecards and taking pictures, or even by finding a fancy image that displays the word on it, i.e.:

(Found: http://fbopinmate.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/hope.jpg)

In your post, you’re welcome to elaborate on any word or picture you include, but, if you can, please keep the explanations at a minimum. I encourage you to keep your posts relatively description-free, and let the words and the pictures speak for themselves.

***

If you’re interested in participating in the blog chain, comment below with a link to your blog and any days you can’t post on, and I’ll assign you a date. And if you’re unsure whether or not you should join, for this chain in particular I say YES! 🙂 The more voices we get, the more meaningful the blog chain will be.

Let me know if you have any questions!

 

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

54 comments on “TCWT November 2014 Blog Chain

  1. nevillegirl
    October 24, 2014

    Ooh, love the prompt! 🙂 May I have the 7th, please?

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      So happy to hear it! 😀 And yes, of course!

  2. vergeofexisting
    October 24, 2014

    This sounds super exciting!!
    Can I have the fifth? 😀

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Definitely! 😀

      Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. Quirky Introvert
    October 24, 2014

    Ooooh!!! This sounds amazing………I’d love to do it! I can pretty much post it any day besides the second tenth or eleventh…….

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      I’m really happy to hear that! I’ll put you down for the 18th. 🙂

  4. Quirky Teen Writer
    October 24, 2014

    quirkyteenwriter.wordpress.com

  5. maralaurey
    October 24, 2014

    Ooh this is exciting! I can do any day 🙂

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 17th. 🙂

  6. irisbloom5
    October 24, 2014

    I’m quite nervous about this particular prompt, so I’m going to dive right in.
    Can I do the 5th please?
    It’s my 18th Birthday that day, and the prompt seems to fit the occasion well. 🙂
    http://irisbloomsblog.wordpress.com/

    • irisbloom5
      October 24, 2014

      Rats! someone apparently posted requesting the 5th 15 minutes before me without my noticing… okay, back up choices would be 6th or 10th.

      • John Hansen
        October 28, 2014

        The 6th would be perfect. I’ll put you down for that. And happy (early) 18th birthday! (If you want, you can make the post on the 5th, and we’ll just have people actually visit your blog the next day, per the schedule. But publishing it a day early is totally okay if you’d prefer that.)

      • irisbloom5
        October 30, 2014

        Thanks!

  7. kirabauthor
    October 24, 2014

    Hey there, John! I guess I’ll be joining in from now until I turn 21. 🙂 My blog is at http://www.kirabudge.weebly.com/my-blog and I would prefer to post on a Wednesday or a Saturday.

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Ahh, that’s so awesome to hear! 😉 And I’ll put you down for the 12th, a Wednesday.

  8. Taylor Lynn
    October 24, 2014

    What a wonderful idea, John! I love it, I really do, and I’d be thrilled to participate. 🙂 If possible, could I maybe have the 22nd?

    • Taylor Lynn
      October 25, 2014

      (Oops, I almost forgot–here’s my blog link! http://paperdaydreams.com/ )

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      So glad you like it! 🙂 I’m going to say yes, the 22nd works, and cross my fingers that we get at least one more person to join (since there is an empty slot on the 21st). If no one else comes, though, I may have to bump you down to the 21st, if that’s okay.

      I’ll let you know!

      • Taylor Lynn
        October 28, 2014

        That’s okay, the 21st will probably be fine if no one else joins. I’ll keep an eye open for the schedule so I’ll know when to put up my post. 🙂

  9. Miriam Joy
    October 24, 2014

    I would be interested. Wednesdays are hell, please not a Wednesday.

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Ha, I know what you mean. I’ll put you down for the 15th (a Saturday).

  10. Precious @ Clockwork Desires
    October 24, 2014

    I’m interested! I can post on any day except Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday 🙂
    http://clockworkdesires.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      So happy to hear that! And I’ll put you down for the 9th, a Sunday. 🙂

  11. Heather
    October 24, 2014

    I’m a little hesitant… But I think I want to do it. I believe I can do any day except for the 25th, so you can stick me wherever you want.

    semilegacy.blogspot.com

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      I understand, but I’m happy you decided to join. 🙂 I’ll put you down for the 13th.

      • Heather
        October 30, 2014

        I’ll put it on my calendar. 😀

  12. Pamela Nicole
    October 24, 2014

    Me! *raising hand*.

    Not a tuesday(because of the top ten tuesday meme), or a wednesday(worst days ever. Can’t get anything done because college), or a saturday(my writer interviews :)) But if I had to choose one of those, I’d sacrifice the wednesday if there is no other option.

    http://www.pamelanicolewrites.com/

    See you guys around!

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      So a Monday would work? If so, I’ll put you down for the 10th. 😀

      Also – love your blog look!

      • Pamela Nicole
        October 28, 2014

        Yes, Monday 10th is perfect!

        And thanks! :3 Love the idea behind yours. (And the header. The header is awesome)

  13. Alyssa
    October 24, 2014

    Ooh, really love this prompt. I’d prefer the first half of the month, if that’s alright. Link: randommorbidinsanity.blogspot.com. Thanks!

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      That definitely works! I’ll put you down for the 11th.

  14. Olivia Rivers
    October 24, 2014

    Oh! This is an awesometastic prompt. I’d love to participate this month, and I’m open to do it any day. Blog link: http://oliviarivers.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Woohoo! I’m putting you down for the 14th. 🙂

  15. Julia Byers
    October 24, 2014

    Well, I’m in. I can do any day but Wednesdays! http://www.juliathewritergirl.com

  16. unikkelyfe
    October 25, 2014

    I’m in!
    Can I have a late date on a weekend? I can do any weekend day except the 28th because that’s my birthday.
    Can’t wait!

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Someone requested the 22nd, a Saturday, and since I’m not sure we’ll get enough people so that I can give you the 23rd, would you mind taking the 16th? It’s a Sunday, but I’m not sure if it qualifies as a late date.

      Let me know! Thanks. 🙂

      • unikkelyfe
        October 28, 2014

        I can do the 16th.
        Thanks!

  17. This sounds like an awesome prompt! Any day in the later half of the month will work. Thanks.
    http://butterfliesoftheimagination.wordpress.com/

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Woohoo! 😀 I’m putting you down for the 19th, then.

  18. This sounds super fun! Any day works for me, although I’d prefer a weekend. 🙂
    http://freeasagirlwithwings.wordpress.com

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      Awesome! I’ll put you down for the 8th (a Saturday). 🙂

  19. erinkenobi2893
    October 28, 2014

    I have to take a rain check on this. I just got a new job and adding that to my college is already stressful enough… GAH. I’m not even awake enough to post a coherent comment.

    • John Hansen
      October 28, 2014

      I totally understand. Hope things get less busy soon! :/ October and November tend to be really overwhelming, I’ve found.

      • erinkenobi2893
        October 29, 2014

        Indeed. I can’t do Nano this year. 😦

  20. T
    October 28, 2014

    Hi! I’d like to participate this month! I can do any day after the 4th. 🙂

    • John Hansen
      November 2, 2014

      Awesome! I’ll give you the 21st. 🙂

      • T
        November 4, 2014

        Thanks! 🙂

  21. Edwina Mapenzi
    November 1, 2014

    This is an insanely late reply but can I participate. I’m cool with any date at least if there’s room. Thanks:)

Leave a comment

October 2014
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031