Teens Can Write, Too!

Changing the world's opinion… as soon as we finish this math homework

The End

It’s true. After nearly four years of existence, TCWT is closing its doors. As rewarding as this blog has been for me, I feel that it has run its course, and it’s time to formally end it.

Though I know each of you has followed us for varying lengths of time–some since the beginning–I hope that, no matter what, TCWT has helped you in some small way to feel inspired, to meet other cool teen writers, or at least to know that you aren’t alone.

I can’t thank you guys enough for all that you’ve done–for commenting on our posts, for participating in our contests, and above all for listening to me ramble these past few years. This blog has been a big part of my life for a long time, and I’m so happy that I get to view it as time well spent. That’s all because of you. So thank you, thank you, thank you.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to be cleaning up the site archives and possibly updating the blog’s layout so that any newcomers to the blog can easily access all of the posts we’ve written. (I’ve already deleted many of the old contest posts, since they’ve been confusing those who don’t realize that the contests already ended.) But beyond that, the blog will stay as is, and I hope it will continue to help any teen writers who stumble across it.

I don’t think I have much else to say. Just: thanks. I never imagined this blog would grow to be as big as it is, and I’m so happy to have interacted with all of you. I can’t wait to walk into a bookstore one a day and to see your books lining the shelves. Keep writing–and best of luck!

P.S. If you want to keep in touch with the writers, please see our social media links here. Personally, you can find me on Twitter as @ABoredAuthor or on Tumblr as jhansenwrites.

P.P.S. You guys are awesome. Don’t forget that.

 

About Michael Waters

I'm Michael, I'm eighteen, and I blog about YA books for Barnes & Noble.

17 comments on “The End

  1. Alexandrina Brant
    August 1, 2015

    Aww, no, John. This is sad.

    • John Hansen
      August 1, 2015

      Yeah. 😦 But I think it’s going to be good for me to not have to keep the blog limping along.

  2. coruscantbookshelf
    August 1, 2015

    John! This is horrific! I only had six blog chains to go as it was! Can’t I – or Miriam – or Alexandrina – or even the Professor or someone take turns to run more chains?

    • John Hansen
      August 2, 2015

      You’re welcome to run it from your blog! Like, you could create your own blog chain for teen writers inspired by TCWT’s. I’d just rather you not call it “the TCWT blog chain.” Sorry. 😦

  3. Katie Grace
    August 2, 2015

    Aw, how sad! I enjoyed participating in the few chains I was a part of.
    But, it’s understood. Life gets a hold of you and sometimes people feel the need to move on. Thanks for all you’ve done with this blog!

    • John Hansen
      August 2, 2015

      Yeah, it does. Thank you so much! So glad it helped! 🙂

  4. irisbloom5
    August 2, 2015

    This was so much fun to do, I am sorry to see it ending.

    • John Hansen
      August 2, 2015

      I am, too, though I’m glad it was fun–thank you!

  5. Euan Suarez
    August 2, 2015

    WAIT WHAT?!?!?!?! I LITERALLY JUST SUBSCRIBED YESTERDAY

  6. Heather
    August 2, 2015

    Aw, I’m sorry to see this go. Still, I’m glad and proud to say that I got to participate in the blog chains and meet some new awesome people while you were up and running. I feel like you really helped me not just as a writer, but as a blogger who learned to love a social aspect of it all, as well. So thank you for all the gifts you have given through the blog, and I’m sad to see you go. But that’s okay. Blogs aren’t beautiful because they last forever.

    • John Hansen
      August 2, 2015

      This made my day. Thank you so much, Heather! So happy it helped!

  7. I am very very very sad by this news, but I understand your decision. 😦 We will miss you and all of the writers, along with the awesome blog chains!

  8. Wesaun @ Oreos and Books
    August 3, 2015

    While reading this, I could just hear Pomp & Circumstance in the background. It’s a wistful tune, but I feel this whole post was letting go of one good thing, to grab onto another. I personally have not been a serious writer for a little bit, but it’s so nice to observe how many people have been positively affected throughout the course of your blog. I mean, I don’t know, there’s just something sort of beautiful about something starting off as such a tiny thing snowballing into something that becomes so great in so many lives. Good luck on your future endeavours.

  9. themagicviolinist
    August 3, 2015

    So sad to see this blog coming to an end, but I’m so grateful for the time I got to spend on here. 🙂 I met so many cool people through the blog chains (including you, John!) and loved the discussion the posts on here opened up. Thank you for starting the TCWT family! It’s been one crazy awesome ride.

  10. Ellie
    August 8, 2015

    Sad to see TCWT go, but I’m glad I got to spend a few months here. Maybe I’ll start my own blog chain someday, see what happens . . . I only got to do one chain here, but it was awesome 🙂 TCWT helped me so much, in both writing and blogging, and I’ll definitely come back to the archives here next time I’m struggling to keep on writing. Thanks for everything 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

August 2015
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031